In Praise of Joe

From Wind Repertory Project
Scott McAllister

Scott McAllister

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 7:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Lydmusic
Cost: Score and Parts - Available November 2020


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Contrabassoon (optional)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass (optional)
Percussion I-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum, concert
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal, large
  • Tom-Tom
  • Xylophone


  • Piccolo, Flute, Oboe, Clarinet, Alto Saxophone, m. 109, beat 2: 4th sixteenth note should be concert D-flat.

Program Notes

In Praise of Joe is dedicated to the life and legacy of Joseph Kreines (b. 1936), who has been an inspiration to thousands of students and professional musicians around the world. This work celebrates the energy, enthusiasm, musical talent, and influence Joe has had in the music world for so many decades. Composer Scott McAllister currently professor of music composition at Baylor University, explains,

“I have known and have been friends with Joe since I was in middle school in the early 1980s. His passion for music, dedication to help students and ensembles reach the highest level possible, and his infectious spirit were just a few inspirations for this composition. His love and knowledge of the great composers of the early band repertoire, like Grainger and Holst, is emulated in this work. I am honored to have had this opportunity. Thank you, Joe."

- Program Note from University of Central Florida Wind Ensemble concert program, 7 November 2019


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Central Florida (Orlando) Wind Ensemble (Scott Lubaroff, conductor) – 7 November 2019 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer