II Concerto

From Wind Repertory Project
Oscar Navarro

Oscar Navarro

Subtitle: Concerto for Clarinet and Symphonic Band

General Info

Year: 2012
Duration: c. 7:35
Difficulty: VI (soloist) / V (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Oscar Navarro
Cost: Score and Parts - €185.00


Full Score
Solo B-flat Clarinet
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Flugelhorn I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba/Vibraphone
  • Mark Tree
  • Rattlesnakes
  • Shakers
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Whip
  • Xylophone



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The shape of this concerto is in one movement with three main sections clearly identifiable. In the majority of the course of the piece, the language is tonal, with lots of colors and a very rich orchestration. The work exploits most of the technical possibilities of the clarinet, while in many parts it is treated as the instrument par excellence in all of us, the voice.

The first major section of the work is divided into two parts, a very cantabile style tinged with ethnic/new age, unlike the second, which is completely contrasting style and different, as is the typical flamenco music of Spanish folklore. This part is accompanied by one of the instruments used in the world of flamenco, the palms. Clarinet, orchestra and clappers will be responsible for creating this dance that takes us to the second large section of the work, the slow.

This second section, with a minimalist touch, exploits the dynamic possibilities of expression of the clarinet, becoming at times very close to the human voice. The pianissimo and the high level of expression come to mesmerize the listener until the climax, when the orchestra was founded on a great time and feeling energized, giving way to relax when final, ethereal and floating character with certain impressionistic strokes.

The last section, the prestissimo, is framed as a big dance where the clarinetist uses any technical virtuosity, being cornerstone dialogue between clarinet and orchestra, very present throughout the course of this last section.

The Second Concerto for Clarinet and Symphony Orchestra was a commission of the Valencia Music Institute and dedicated to clarinetist José Franch Ballester.

The work was written between November-December 2011 and January 2012.

- Program Note from publisher

For José Franch Ballester.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire Wind Symphony (John R. Stewart, conductor; Alyssa Powell, clarinet) - 17 February 2023 (MMEA Conference, Minneapolis, Minn.)
  • University of West Georgia (Carrollton) Wind Ensemble (Josh Byrd, conductor; Ashton Smeltzer, clarinet) - 13 February 2023
  • University of Kentucky (Lexington) Wind Symphony (John Cody Birdwell, conductor) - 24 April 2022
  • Angelo State University (San Angelo, Tx.) Wind Ensemble (Jonathan Alvis, conductor; Luis Gomez, clarinet) - 28 March 2021
  • University of Maryland (College Park) Wind Ensemble (Andrea Brown, conductor; Robert DiLutis, clarinet) – 6 March 2020
  • University of Michigan (Ann Arbor) Concert Band (Courtney Snyder, conductor) – 11 February 2019
  • Northwestern University (Evanston, Ill.) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Mallory Thompson, conductor; Steve Cohen, clarinet) – 18 May 2018
  • Saratoga (Calif.) High School Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Jason Shiuan, conductor; Leo Kim, clarinet) – 20 July 2017 - WASBE Conference (Utrecht, Netherlands)
  • Bevers Harmonieorkest (Belgium) (Bert Decavel, conductor; David Van Maele, clarinet) - 9 January 2015
  • Philharmonic Winds (Singapore) (Robert Casteels, conductor; Jose Franch-Ballester, clarinet) – 27 September 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.