Hungarian Dance No 6 (arr Price)

From Wind Repertory Project
Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms (arr. S.J. Price)

General Info

Year: 1869 / 1940
Duration: c. 3:15
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano four-hands
Publisher: Carl Fischer
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above. This work may be borrowed from the Chatfield Music Lending Library


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
C Piccolo
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-II
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornets Solo-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass

(percussion detail desired)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Originally set in D-flat major, the sixth Hungarian Dance, starts with a slow teaser before the marked vivace tempo takes hold. This upbeat dance is contrasted through Brahms’ dramatic use of dynamics. The quiet woodwind sections go against the loud tutti sections that are led by the strings and percussion. A held-back second theme has its roots firmly in Hungarian folk tunes, as the theme begins to unravel. Brahms moves between the sweet-sounding melodies and the harsh and vivacious second theme to create light and shade within the dance. The sixth dance finishes with a very short recapitulation of the first theme before two chords finish the dance in scintillating style.

- Program Note by Alex Burns for orchestral version


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works