Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Horizon (Oquin)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wayne Oquin

Wayne Oquin

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 18:55
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Unknown
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
C Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangles (2)
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Horizon is commissioned by Texas State University to commemorate the centennial celebration of its band. From the moment I began sketching, I knew the music would be bold, expansive, symphonic in scope. I wanted to create music that would mark this special occasion.

This work travels through points of extremity. The music begins with an outburst in the percussion. Though the opening section is somewhat subdued -- woodwind solos flourishing and elaborating disparate fragments over a single sustained bass note -- and though the piece ends with a mountainous surge -- it is the journey between these boundaries that occupied much of my attention in the writing process. On this expedition are moments of great complexity; other stretches are simple and unassuming. Long soaring melodies are contrasted with rapid dissipating flashes of light. Densely chromatic harmonic progressions travel far from any tonal center just as other oscillating motives elaborate a single harmony. Texture and orchestral color are in constant flux, yet a solitary bassoon passively sings uninterrupted for over a minute. At the center of the work is a soft sustained chorale built on a four-note melody. It is the one moment where all perpetual motion is suspended.

Though the work could be described as one large ABA structure, in a very real sense it is made of many peaks and valleys, countless rises and falls, one phrase leading to another, no two of them identical.

Horizon is dedicated to Dr. John C. Schmidt, among my foremost instructors at Texas State, in honor of his much-deserved retirement.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Texas State University (San Marcos) Wind Symphony (Caroline Beatty, conductor) – 10 October 2021 *premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer