Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Hora Staccato

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Grigoras Dinicu

Grigoras Dinicu (arr. Geoff Kingston)

Subtitle: Solo for Flute for Concert Band

General Info

Year: 1906 / 2011
Duration: c. 2:15
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Violin and piano
Publisher: Safe Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - £25.00


Full Score
Solo Flute
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Drum Set
  • Tambourine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Hora staccato (1906) is a virtuoso violin showpiece by Grigoraș Dinicu. It is a short, fast work in a Romanian hora style, and has become a favorite encore of violinists, especially in the 1932 arrangement by Jascha Heifetz. The piece requires an exceptional command of both upbow and downbow staccato. The character of the piece also demands the notes be articulated in a crisp and clear manner so that the vibrancy of music comes out.

Dinicu wrote it for his graduation in 1906 from the Bucharest Conservatory, and performed it at the ceremony. Subsequently it has been arranged for other combinations of instruments, notably trumpet and piano.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Duke (Durham, N.C.) Wind Symphony (Verena Mösenbichler-Bryant, conductor; DeShaun Gordon-King, flute) – 24 February 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer