Honor, Courage...Commitment

From Wind Repertory Project
Stephen Melillo

Stephen Melillo

General Info

Year: 1996 / 1998
Duration: c. 12:40
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stormworks USA
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $135.00; (digital) - $120.00   |   Score Only (print) - $45.00

Individual movements may be purchased separately.


1. Without Warning – 1:50
2. Without Hesitation – 5:00
3. GODSPEED! – 5:40 (optional)


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba/PAD Bass
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Hi-Hat
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Tam-tam (large)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Honor, Courage…Commitment is a three-movement tour de force for wind ensemble. Melillo composed the work at the request of the U.S. Navy, which asked him to write “something that will be like a victory at sea, only more … something filmic and dramatic, a monument to the spirit of the Navy!”

The first movement, Without Warning, features swirling runs in the upper winds, sinister harmonies in the brass, and violent percussive accents, bringing to mind a ship at sea caught off guard by a sudden squall. The second movement, Without Hesitation, begins with a reverent chorale in the low brass and winds, accompanied by fanfare-like interjections in the trumpets and percussion. This leads into a mercurial dialogue between solo flute and clarinet, and the movement closes with a bold fanfare by the full brass section. The final movement, GODSPEED!, can be performed as a standalone work and is composed in A-B-A form (fast-slow-fast). The opening section sparkles with energy and features heroic gestures in the brass and low winds, punctuated by searing runs in the upper winds. The middle section is more contemplative and features a lovely alto saxophone solo, which transitions to a recapitulation of the opening material for a rousing finale.

- Program Note from U.S. Marine Band concert program, 19 August 2021


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • United States Marine Band (Washington, D.C.) (Bryan P. Sherlock, conductor) - 19 August 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer