Homage to Machaut

From Wind Repertory Project
Ron Nelson

Ron Nelson

This work is the fourth movement of the composer's Medieval Suite.

General Info

Year: 1983
Duration: c. 5:10
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey and Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts - $90.00   |   Score Only - $17.50


Full Score
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Timpani Percussion I-II-III-IV-V-VI, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (suspended)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Gong (Tam-tam)
  • Marimba (2)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone (2)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Medieval Suite was written in homage to three great masters of the Middle Ages: Leonin (middle 12th century), Perotin (c. 1155-1200), and Machaut (c. 1300-1377). These are neither transcriptions of their works nor attempts at emulating their respective styles. Rather, the music served as a sort of launching pad for three pieces which draw on some of the stylistic characteristics of music from that period, e.g., repetition of rhythmic patterns or modes, modules of sound, proportions that produce octaves, fourths and fifths, use of Gregorian chant, syncopation, long pedal points where a sustained tone regulates melodic progression.

Homage to Machaut evokes the stately, gently syncopated and flowing sounds of this master of choral writing. The movement consists of a statement with two repetitions, each with different instrumentation. It closes with the same chant and instrumental textures which opened the suite.

Homage to Machaut was first performed March 18, 1983, at the National Conference of the College Band Directors National Association by the Western Michigan University Symphonic Band, Richard J. Suddendorf, conductor.

- Program Note by Ron Nelson


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • California Institute of Technology (Pasadena) (Glenn Price, conductor) - 4 November 203
  • Mansfield (Penn.) University Concert Wind Ensemble (Adam F. Brennan, conductor) - 20 November 2022
  • Stephen F. Austin University (Nacogdoches, Tx.) Wind Ensemble (David Campo, conductor) - 2 March 2021
  • Texas State University (San Marcos) Symphonic Winds (Kyle Glaser, conductor) – 5 March 2020
  • Oklahoma City (Okla.) University Wind Ensemble (Matthew Mailman, conductor) – 7 November 2019
  • James Madison University (Harrisonburg, Va.) Wind Symphony (Stephen Bolstad, conductor) – 26 April 2018
  • Penn State University (University Park) Symphonic Band (Dennis Glock, conductor) – 25 April 2018
  • Lakeshore Wind Ensemble (Manitowoc, Wisc.) (Marc Sackman, conductor) – 2 December 2017
  • University of Miami (Coral Gables) Frost Symphonic Winds (J. Stephen Moore, conductor) – 12 October 2017
  • University of Arizona (Tucson) Wind Ensemble (Clifford Weston, conductor) – 23 March 2017
  • Ithaca (N.Y.) College Concert Band (Brian Diller, conductor) - 9 March 2017
  • Eastman School of Music (Rochester, N.Y.) Wind Orchestra (Mark Scatterday, conductor) – 1 February 2017
  • 207 Wind Orchestra (Timothy Burns, conductor) - February 13, 2016
  • Lawrence University Symphonic Band (Matthew Arau, conductor) – 17 October 2015

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Miles, Richard B. 2000. Teaching Music Through Performance in Band. Volume 3. Chicago: GIA Publications. pp. 383-388.