Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Holiday Portraits

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Sean O'Loughlin

Traditional (arr. Sean O'Loughlin)

General Info

Year: 2010
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Carl Fischer Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drums
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Mark Tree
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Whip


In Score and Parts:

  • Tenor Saxophone, m. 148, beat 2: D4 eighth note should be a E4
  • Percussion I, Snare Drum, m. 118, beat 4: Add a tremolo on quarter note

Program Notes

If you're looking for a challenging Christmas piece that is well worth the effort, look to this bold medley of holiday favorites. You will hear a potpourri of festive tunes, such as Hark the Herald Angels Sing, Deck the Halls, Good King Wenceslas and O Come All Ye Faithful cleverly woven together with snippets of symphonic music favorites.

- Program Note from publisher

Holiday Portraits is a contemporary arrangement of classic Christmas carols. “With this setting, I imagined several carols weaving in and out of each other to create a fantasy of sounds and melodies. Throughout this journey, I sprinkle in treatments of these carols in the style of some of my most beloved classical composers. Try to spot the tributes to Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky, Gershwin, Bartók and even Bernstein along the way. The bright and flashy opening is a collection of phrases from O Christmas Tree and O Come All Ye Faithful. Splashes of woodwind and brass colors build up to a treatment of Angels We Have Heard on High. A jovial setting of Deck the Halls follows with a featured duet of piccolo and tuba. After some whirlish woodwinds, the music moves towards a rhythmic setting of Good King Wenceslas. A small dose of Joy to the World transitions the piece into a heroic setting of O Come All Ye Faithful to bring the piece full circle. The joyous opening material returns as a natural ending to a fantastic holiday journey.”

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • O'Loughlin, S. (2010). Holiday Portraits [score]. Carl Fisher: New York.