Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Oscar Navarro

Oscar Navarro

Subtitle: Fantasía española para banda sinfónica

General Info

Year: 2013 / 2016
Duration: c. 9:55
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Óscar Navarro
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €165.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Flugelhorn I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanets
  • Claves
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Flamenco Box
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone

Spanish Guitar


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

It’s a fantasy for concert band dedicated to the Municipal Band of Alicante (Valencia, Spain) and an homage to the great Spanish composers of the late nineteenth and twentieth century. Those composers nurtured our country culture and taken it beyond our borders, composers who have made their music part of our lives and the Spanish National Culture before, now and forever.

With this piece, I wanted to make a nod to the nationalist compositional language of late nineteenth and twentieth centuries and give a fresh touch without losing the traditional essence and of course using traditional rhythmic dances of our folklore.

The Alicante Municipal Band has never missed music in their programming from our ancestors, so with this piece I want to offer a badge to the band, who can proudly wear everywhere and with a stamp with “Alicantina´s roots”, such as mine.

- Program Note by composer

Para la Banda Municipal de Alicante por su primer centenario 1913-2013.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Navarro, O. (2016). Hispania : Fantasía española para banda sinfónica [score]. Óscar Navarro Music: Madrid, Spain.
  • Óscar Navarro website Accessed 2 September 2018