Highlights from the Seville Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Bill Whelan

Bill Whelan (arr. Johan de Meij)

Subtitle: From Kinsdale to La Caruña, for Wind Orchestra

General Info

Year: 1992 / 2011
Duration: c. 13:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Amstel Music
Cost: Score and Parts - $198.00   |   Score Only - $44.00


1. Kinsale
2. Father Conry's Jig
3. The Coast of Galicia
4. Caraçena
5. O'Donnell's Lament
6. The Road to La Coruña
7. Caraçena Jig


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Castanet
  • Cowbell
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tenor Drum
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Irish composer and producer Bill Whelan gained worldwide acclaim for Riverdance. The success of Riverdance evolved from a concept of music and dance he established earlier with The Seville Suite, his first major orchestral composition. The Seville Suite was commissioned for Ireland's National Day at the World Expo 1992 in Seville, Spain.

Through the score, Whelan tells the story of legendary Irish war hero Red Hugh O'Donnell. At a mere 21 years of age, O'Donnell successfully led a rebellion against the English government in 1593. Although he subsequently joined forces with Spain, he famously suffered defeat in the disastrous battle of Kinsale. The music follows his journey from that infamous battle to his reception with great honors by the Spanish Earl of Caraçena.

The Seville Suite received its world première at the Maestranza Concert Hall in Seville on October 4, 1992. The wind orchestra version, arranged by Johan de Meij, is a 13-minute adaption with highlights from the original suite.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Whelan, B.; Meij, J. (2011). Highlights from the Seville Suite [score]. Amstel Music: Amsterdam.