From Wind Repertory Project
Amanda Feery

Amanda Feery

General Info

Year: 2019
Duration: c. 7:40
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Murphy Music Press
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $165.00   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II-III
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake Drum
  • Drum Set
  • Floor Tom
  • Marimba
  • Mid-Tom
  • Ride Cymbal
  • Snare Drums (2)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Heartworm was commissioned for the Ball State Symphony Band in 2019. To the composer, a “heartworm” is a friendship that you can’t get out of your head, or that has come back into your life. Feery conveys this idea with a piece in four continuous sections; the outer two express the nervous giddiness that can come from interpersonal relationships and anticipation, while the inner two sections portray a more dreamlike, emotional state.

- Program Note from Florida State University Wind Ensemble concert program, 12 April 2022


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Indiana University (Bloomington) Concert Band (Jason H. Nam, conductor) – 4 October 2022
  • Florida State University (Tallahassee) Wind Ensemble (Jennifer Jolley, conductor) - 12 April 2022
  • Ball State University (Muncie, Ind.) Symphony Band (Caroline Hand, conductor) – 20 September 2019 *Premiere performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Amanda Feery website Accessed 13 September 2019
  • The Horizon Leans Forward..., compiled and edited by Erik Kar Jun Leung, GIA Publications, 2021, p. 323.
  • Perusal score