Harvest: Concerto for Trombone

From Wind Repertory Project
John Mackey

John Mackey

Subtitle: For Solo Trombone and Orchestra without Strings

General Info

Year: 2009
Duration: c. 18:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Osti Music
Cost: Score & Parts - $500.00 (Rental)   |   Score Only (Purchase) - $95.00


Full score
Solo Trombone
Flute I-II-III
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet (doubling B-flat Soprano Clarinet III)
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
Bass Clarinet
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Tenor Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Piano (strings are also played by Percussion I at beginning)
Timpani (doubling Vibraphone)
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Brake drum (with bell plate on top)
  • China Cymbals (large and small)
  • Djembe
  • Hi-hat
  • Roto-toms (2)
  • Snare Drum
  • Splash Cymbal
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tambourine (2, one mounted)
  • Tom-toms (4, drumset/"rock" toms preferred)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Harvest: Concerto for Trombone is based on the myths and mystery rituals of the Greek god Dionysus. As the Olympian god of the vine, Dionysus is famous for inspiring ecstasy and creativity. But this agricultural, earth-walking god was also subjected each year to a cycle of agonizing death before glorious rebirth, analogous to the harsh pruning and long winter the vines endure before blooming again in the spring. The concerto's movements attempt to represent this dual nature and the cycle of suffering and return.

The concerto is set in three connected sections, totaling approximately 18 minutes. The first section begins with a slow introduction, heavy on ritualistic percussion, representing the summoning of Dionysus's worshipers to the ceremony. The rite itself builds in intensity, with Dionysus (represented, of course, by the solo trombone) engaging in call and response with his followers, some of whom are driven to an ecstatic outcry -- almost a "speaking in tongues" -- represented by insistent woodwind trills. But when Dionysus transitions to a gentler tone, his frenzied worshipers do not follow. Their fervor overcomes them, and they tear their god to shreds in an act of ritual madness.

This brutal sacrifice by the ecstatic worshipers -- the pruning of the vine -- is followed without pause by the second section, representing Dionysus in the stillness of death, or winter. The god is distant, the music like a prayer. The shoots of spring burst forth in the final section, following again without pause. The earth is reborn as Dionysus rises again, bringing the ecstasy and liberation that have been celebrated in his name for centuries.

Harvest: Concerto for Trombone is dedicated to Joseph Alessi.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Central Michigan University (Mount Pleasant) Symphonic Wind Ensemble (Christopher C. Chapman, conductor; Robert Lindahl, trombone) - 9 October 2022
  • West Texas A&M University (Canyon) Symphonic Band (Don Lefevre, conductor; John Shanks, trombone) - 27 April 2022
  • Case Western Reserve University (Cleveland, Ohio) Symphonic Winds (Ryan Scherber, conductor; Nicholas Pogharian, trombone) – 2 March 2020
  • University of Oregon (Eugene) Wind Ensemble (David M. Jacobs, conductor; Henry Henninger, trombone) – 4 December 2019
  • Pacific Lutheran University (Parkland, Wash.) Wind Ensemble (Edwin Powell, conductor; Rebecca Ford, trombone) – 12 May 2019
  • Lynn University (Boca Raton, Fla.) Wind Ensemble (Kenneth Amis, conductor; John Faieta, trombone) – 8 September 2018
  • Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge) Wind Ensemble (Damon Talley, conductor; Nitzan Haroz, trombone) – 25 April 2017
  • University of Florida (Gainesville) Wind Symphony (David Waybright, conductor) – 7 February 2012
  • Senzoku Gakuen College of Music (Japan) Blue Tie Wind Ensemble (Jerry Junkin, conductor; Joseph Alessi, trombone) – 21 December 2012 (2012 Midwest Clinic)
  • University of Washington (Seattle) Wind Ensemble (Timothy Salzman, conductor; Ko-ichiro Yamamoto, trombone) – 26 March 2011 (CBDNA 2011 National Conference, Seattle, Wash.)
  • Florida International University Wind Ensemble (Catherine Rand, conductor; Anthony McFarlane, trombone) - 11 April 2011
  • University of Georgia Wind Ensemble (John Lynch, conductor; Joshua Bynum, trombone) - 13 October 2010

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works