Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Hannah Kendall

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hannah Kendall


Hannah Kendall (b. 1984, London) is a British composer.

Hannah went on to graduate from the University of Exeter with First Class Honours in Music, having studied composition with Joe Duddell. Hannah also completed a master's in advanced composition with distinction from the Royal College of Music studying with Kenneth Hesketh and funded by the Arts and Humanities Research Council, the Royal College of Music Study Award and the RVW Trust. Hannah is currently based in New York City as a doctoral fellow in composition at Columbia University.

Hannah’s music has attracted the attentions of some of the UK’s finest groups including London Philharmonic Orchestra, Bournemouth Symphony Orchestra, and Philharmonia Orchestra, with performances at the Royal Festival Hall, Queen Elizabeth Hall, and Cheltenham Music Festival, among others. Hannah's works have also been broadcast on BBC Radio, including "Composer of the Week" in March 2015, and "Hear and Now" in October 2016.

In 2015, Hannah won the Women of the Future Award for Arts and Culture. Recent projects include a one-man chamber opera, The Knife of Dawn, premiered at London's Roundhouse in October 2016. Also, The Spark Catchers, an orchestral piece for Chineke!, which was premiered at the Royal Albert Hall in August 2017 as part of the BBC Proms, described as 'imaginatively intricate' by the Financial Times, and Verdala for London Sinfonietta, conducted by George Benjamin at the 2018 Proms Hannah is deeply committed to contemporary culture as a whole and often works collaboratively with artists from other art forms. She has developed a fruitful creative relationship with poet Rick Holland, setting Fundamental for choir and brass quintet. Hannah also worked closely with choreographer Symeon Kyriakopoulos in creating Labyrinthine, which was premiered at The Place as part of the Resolution! Festival in 2009.

Works for Winds