Gods Go A-Begging, The

From Wind Repertory Project
George Frideric Handel

George Frideric Handel (arr. Beecham; arr. William James Duthoit; rev. Erik Leidzén)

Subtitle: Ballet Suite

General Info

Year: 1929 / 1947
Duration: c. 11:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Chappell
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
D-flat Piccolo
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Snare Drum
  • Tubular Bell (or Chimes)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Excerpts from the suite, originally for orchestra. The music of this ballet has been culled from the various operas of Handel. The excepts include Introduction, Allegro, Ensemble, Musette, and Bourée.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Arkansas: V
  • Florida: V
  • Louisiana: V
  • Tennessee: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project Racine (Wisc.) Concert Band (Mark Eichner, conductor) - 1 November 2022

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Handel, G.; Beecham, T.; Duthroit, W.; Leidzén, E. [1947]. The Gods Go A-Begging (Ballet Suite) [score]. Chappell & Co.: New York.