Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Gmyway’s Revenge!

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
David Holsinger

David Holsinger

Subtitle: A Symphonic Suite for Band

General Info

Year: 1994
Duration: c. 12:15
Difficulty: V-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: TRN Music Publishers
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $125.00   |   Score Only (print) - $15.00


1. Alla Brashly Bravura ("Enter the hero, Sir Gmyway of Vordak") – 2:25
2. Intermezzo? Thoughtso! ("The Beguiling Countless Adnil") – 3:25
3. Presto Zoomissimo-issimo-issimo! ("In Pursuit of Rattazinski, der Villian") – 6:30


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-VI
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-XI
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet I-II
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-VI
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-VI
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Afro Crashers (Rhythm Crashers)
  • Agogo Bells
  • Bar Chimes (Mark Tree)
  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Castanets
  • Cowbell
  • Ganza (Metal Shaker)
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom Toms (4)
  • Triangles (4)
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


  • Percussion II, mvt. 1, m.31: The diamond note head and unidentified icon is a tambourine.
  • Percussion III, mvt. 1, m.9: Clarify the three notes (from high to low) as suspended cymbal, bass drum, and gong.
  • Mallet Percussion parts: Add instrument names to the first page to show what instruments are required in each part.

Program Notes

After oh-so-many "heavy" compositions, sometimes a composer just has to "let his hair down" and produce some musical "high jinks" simply to put all things into perspective! Having very little hair to sacrifice, Holsinger takes a bold step into the sublime in writing the suite for symphonic band, Gmyway's Revenge! Under the guise of this nebulous title, lurks three outrageously frantic movements full of fun, vitality, whimsy, and enough fast notes to make even the best of bands breathless! What better way to show off the Greater Milwaukee Youth Wind Ensemble as they celebrate their 10th anniversary under the direction of Tom Dvorak.

After a flamboyant and festive "big-note" opening, the first movement finds its true character in a slapstick scherzo. The Intermezzo, woven around an undulating half-step ostinato, links melodic fragments from the first movement and the prominent melody of the third movement. The suite closes with a rather robust Presto in a style we associate with the composer: ebullient rhythms, fluctuating accents, poly-lineal textures, and "no-mercy" horn lines!

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by the Greater Milwaukee Youth Wind Ensemble, Tom Dvorak, director.

- Program Note from Score


State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class AA
  • North Carolina: VI
  • Tennessee: VI
  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • David Holsinger website Accessed 25 October 2022
  • Holsinger, D. (1994). Gmyway's Revenge!: A Symphonic Suite for Band [score]. TRN Music Publisher; Ruidoso, N.M.