Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Gladiators' Farewell, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Hermann L. Blankenburg

Hermann L Blankenburg

N.B. This work may be found under its German title, Abschied der Gladiatoren Marsch. Also, although the German title is plural, this work may also be found under the singular title in English, The Gladiator's Farewell.

This work bears the designation Opus 48.

General Info

Year: 1907
Duration: c. 3:40
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Piano
Publisher: Hawkes & Son
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print

For availability information, see above.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Side Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Hermann Blankenburg composed a march which he title Deutschlands Fürsten – Germany's Princes – when he was eighteen years old. Later he sent the work to the publisher Louis Oertel, but it was returned as being "too difficult." In 1904 Hawkes & Son organized a march competition which eventually attracted over 500 entries. At the repeated urging of his colleagues in Duisburg, Blankenburg submitted the march he had written ten years earlier and was greatly surprised when it was awarded first place – with the understanding that the title would be changed to The Gladiators' Farewell.

In addition to the money, the composer received the attention of bandsmen around the world. During the next few years Hawkes & Son published seven more marches by Blankenburg.

- Program Note from March Music Notes


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Smith, Norman E. (1986). March Music Notes. Lake Charles, La.: Program Note Press, pp. 46-47.