Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Giles Farnaby Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Composer picture desired

Giles Farnaby (arr. Gordon Jacob)

General Info

Year: 1590? / 1969
Duration: c. 19:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Boosey & Hawkes
Cost: Score and Parts - $115.00   |   Score Only - $20.50


1. Fantasia - 2:20
2. The Old Spagnoletta
3. Giles Farnaby’s Dreame
4. Farnaby’s Concert - 1:00
5. His Rest - 1:05
6. His Humour - 1:45
7. Tell Mee Daphne
8. Rosasolis - 1:30
9. A Toye
10. Loth to Depart
11. Tower Hill - 0:55


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion (4 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The material for this beautifully conceived work selected from the Fitzwilliam Virginal Book, a manuscript collection of nearly 300 pieces for virginal dating approximately 1560 to 1610. The music is frequently and often contrapuntal, with good mixtures of full band transparent scoring. The skill and musicianship of the transcriber, Gordon Jacob, are apparent throughout the suite. The 11 movements (with Middle English spelling in instances) include Fantasia, The Old Spagnoletta, Giles Farnaby’s Dreame, Farnaby’s Concert, His Rest, His Humour, Tell Mee Daphne, Rosasolis, A Toye, Loth to Depart, and Tower Hill.

-Program Note from Program Notes for Band


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • Alabama: Class AA
  • Florida: IV
  • Georgia: IV
  • Louisiana: V
  • Maryland: V
  • Michigan: Senior High A
  • Minnesota: II
  • New York: Concert Band V
  • North Carolina: VI
  • Oklahoma: IV-A
  • South Carolina: V
  • Tennessee: V
  • Texas: IV. Complete
  • Virginia: V


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee Symphony Band (Scott Corley, conductor) - 16 March 2023
  • University of Texas at Arlington Symphonic Winds (Christopher Evans, conductor) - 9 May 2021
  • Foothill Symphonic Winds (Palo Alto, Calif.) (David Bruce Adams, conductor) – 13 March 2016
  • Muskego High School Band - 12 October 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Girsberger, Russ. Percussion Assignments for Band & Wind Ensemble. Volume I: A-K. Galesburg, MD: Meredith Music Publications, 2004, 95. Print.
  • Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music. "Giles Farnaby." Accessed 4 January 2015
  • Jacob, G. (1970). Giles Farnaby Suite [score]. Boosey & Hawkes: [New York?]
  • Miles, Richard B., and Larry Blocher. 2002. Teaching Music Through Performance in Band. Volume 4. Chicago: GIA Publications. pp. 316-323.
  • Smith, Norman E. (2002). Program Notes for Band. Chicago: GIA Publications, pp. 200.