Gershwin: A Medley

From Wind Repertory Project
George Gershwin

George Gershwin (arr. Robert Russell Bennett)

General Info

Year: 1972
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: New World Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Dance Drums
  • Marimba
  • Orchestra Bells
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone

SATB Chorus (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

This medley includes Rhapsody in Blue, Strike Up the Band, Wintergreen for President, Embraceable You, Someone to Watch Over Me, and The Man I Love.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Atascadero (Calif.) Community Band (Ron McCarley, conductor) - 21 June 2016
  • Allegheny College (Pa.) Band Camp for Adult Musicians (Timothy Foley, conductor) - 13 June 2014

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • "Gershwin, Medley." Accessed 30 June 2014.
  • Gershwin, G.; Gershwin, I.; Bennett, R. (1972). Gershwin: Medley for Band [score]. New World Music: [s.l.].