George Washington's Birthday Party (arr Clark)

From Wind Repertory Project
C. L. Barnhouse

C. L. Barnhouse (arr. Andy Clark)

Subtitle: Two-Step or Cake Walk

General Info

Year: 1899 / 1998
Duration: c. 2:35
Difficulty: III-1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. L. Barnhouse Company
Cost: Score and Parts - $60.00   |   Score Only - $5.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Originally published in 1899 and described on the original music as a "Two-Step or Cake Walk," composer C.L. Barnhouse dedicated this number to the Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers. Barnhouse is best remembered as a composer of fine marches and as the founder of one of America's oldest and largest publishing companies, but no one knows why he chose the unique title for this delightful composition.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Barnhouse, C.; Clark, A. (1998). George Washington's Birthday Party [score]. C.L. Barnhouse: Oskaloosa, Iowa.