Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Georg Friedrich Haas

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Georg Friedrich Haas


Georg Friedrich Haas (b. 1953, Graz, Austria) is an Austrian composer living in the United States.

Haas studied composition with Gösta Neuwirth and Ivan Eröd at his hometown university. He continued with postgraduate studies at the University of Music and Performing Arts of Vienna with Friedrich Cerha, who became his mentor and close friend. Haas also participated in the Darmstädter Ferienkurse as well as in music courses at IRCAM in Paris.

Since 1978, he has been teaching at the Hochschule as an instructor, and since 1989 as an associate professor in counterpoint, contemporary composition techniques, analysis, and introduction to microtonal music. Since 2005, he has lectured at the Hochschule in Basel, Switzerland; since 2013, he has been a professor of composition at Columbia University, New York.

Haas is a founding member of the Graz composers' collective Die andere Seite. He composes in a cottage in Fischbach, Styria. He is known and respected internationally as a highly sensitive and imaginative researcher into the inner world of sound. Haas's style recalls that of György Ligeti in its use of micropolyphony, microintervals and the exploitation of the overtone series; he is often characterized as a leading exponent of spectral music. His aesthetics is guided by the idea that music is able "to articulate a human being's emotions and states of the soul in such a way that other human beings can embrace these emotions and states of the soul as their own".

Works for Winds