Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Nick Omiccioli

Nick Omiccioli

The title of this work is correctly punctuated [fuse] and is intentionally written in lower case.

General Info

Year: 2014 / 2015
Duration: c. 5:30
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Nick Omiccioli
Cost: Score and Parts (digital) - $200.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Drum Set
  • Marimba
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

[fuse] was originally composed in 2014 for chamber orchestra on a commission for Mizzou International Composers Festival for Alarm Will Sound. Originating from a 16-bar blues form played by the clarinets, [fuse] is influenced by a number of pop music genres, including rock, heavy metal, funk, and disco. These styles are brought to life through the drum set, which gives the piece its singular character. [fuse] is also quite a workout for the clarinets, with fast interlocking figures functioning as a backbone for the entire piece.

The work was begun while in residency at Copland House, Cortlandt Manor, New York, as a recipient of the Copland House Residency Award. It was transcribed for wind ensemble in 2015.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Lone Star Wind Orchestra (Richardson, Tx.) (Eugene Migliaro Corporon, conductor) - 9 May 2021
  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Ensemble (Robert Truan, conductor) – 23 February 2021
  • Louisiana State University (Baton Rouge) Wind Ensemble (Damon Talley, conductor) – 29 September 2019
  • Pacific Lutheran University (Parkland, Wash.) Wind Ensemble (Edwin Powell, conductor) – 12 May 2019
  • University of Missouri-Kansas City Conservatory Wind Symphony (Steven D. Davis, conductor) – 4 October 2015 – '*Premiere performance*'

Works for Winds by This Composer