Funeral Music from "The Dusk of the Gods"

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Wagner

Richard Wagner (arr. Daniel Godfrey)

This work bears the designation Journal 464

General Info

Year: 1876 / 1919
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Chappell
Cost: Score and Parts – Out of print.

For availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Condensed Score
C Piccolo
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Repiano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone (or Alto Clarinet)
B-flat Tenor Saxophone (or Bass Clarinet)
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet
E-flat Horn I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Siegfried’s Death was the original title of the prose sketch for an opera that grew, over the span of twenty-eight years, into the most monumental undertaking in the history of music -- the four-opera cycle -The Ring of the Nibelungen. The murder of the young hero Siegfried was Wagner’s starting point, and it remains the climax of the full seventeen-hour work.

- Program Note from Chicago Symphony Orchestra concert program, June 2013

Siegfried's Funeral March is taken from Act Three after he has been murdered by Hagen. It is made up of musical motives from previous operas that tell of Siegfried's background, including the Volsung theme, Siegmund and Sieglinde's theme, the Sword, Brünnhilde's love theme and the curse of the Ring.

- Program Note by Iain Farrington


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer