Funeral Hymn

From Wind Repertory Project
Johannes Brahms

Johannes Brahms (arr. Christopher David Westover)

Subtitle: Begräbnisgesang

This work bears the designation Opus 13.

General Info

Year: 1858 / 2018
Duration: c. 8:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: Manuscript

Cost: Score and Parts – unknown. Contact Christopher David Westover


Full Score
Flute I
Flute II/Oboe
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Marimba (optional)
  • Orchestra Chimes (optional)
  • Tenor/Bass Drum (optional)
  • Vibraphone (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Johannes Brahms is a composer so central to the history of Western art music that he is immortalized along with Bach and Beethoven as one of the three Bs of classical music. Though it is unfortunate that he did not make many contributions to the wind-band repertoire, his early music for small wind band and chorus (Begräbnis-gesang) is a work of great artistic merit in the history of the wind repertoire.

Composed early in his life (he was 25), the work is a mini-requiem that traverses the spirit's journey from burial through judgment ot eternal rest. The style of the music clearly foreshadows Ein Deutsches Requiem, reminding listeners of its slow funeral march (Denn alles Fleisch) and its beautiful, hymn-like choral textures (Wie lieblich sind deine Wohnungen).

- Program Note by arranger


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of Oklahoma (Norman) Concert Band (Brian Wolfe, conductor) – 23 April 2018 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Christopher David Westover, personal correspondence, April and August 2018
  • Perusal score