Fugal Concerto, A

From Wind Repertory Project
Gustav Holst

Gustav Holst (arr. Geoffrey Brand)

Subtitle: For Solo Flute, Solo Oboe and Wind Ensemble This work bears the designation Opus 40, no. 2.

General Info

Year: 1923 / 1993?
Duration: c. 8:05
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Flute, oboe and string orchestra
Publisher: G&M Brand
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.50


1. Moderato
2. Adagio
3. Allegro


Full Score
Solo Flute
Solo Oboe
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II
String Bass


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The work was originally written for flute, oboe (or two violins) and String Orchestra in 1923. This arrangement was premiered by the Stockholm Symphonic Winds in September 1993, conducted by the arranger.

Critics who are looking for a tuneful follow-up to St. Paul's Suite for String Orchestra were disappointed, and said so. They were perhaps mollified by the introduction of the folk-tune If All the World Were Paper toward the end of the third movement.

Otherwise, the style of A Fugal Concerto is very much neo-classical – all the rage at the time, although whether Holst had heard Stravinsky's example is not known.

In so far as the work is fugal, the adjective applies more to the texture than the form, although the second movement is canonic. Yet the contrapunctal texture is not texture is not straightforward: phrases are displaced across bar lines and cross rhythms are a feature. Nothing is allowed to settle until the folk tune is introduced towards the end. Yet within this musical web fascinating patterns and cross-references reveal themselves.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

  • Virginia: VI


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Oklahoma State University (Stillwater) Wind Ensemble (Bradley Genervo, conductor) - 15 September 2022
  • Stockholm Symphonic Winds (Geoffrey Brand, conductor) - September 1993 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by this Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Music


  • Holst, G.; Brand, G. [199-?]. Fugal Concerto: For Flute, Oboe and Wind Ensemble: Holst Op. 40, No. 2 : Grade 5 [score]. G&M Brand: Wingrave, Bucks, Eng.
  • Gustav Holst website Accessed 14 September 2022
  • Perusal score