Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

From Chaos to the Birth of a Dancing Star

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Allan Gordon Bell

Allan Gordon Bell

General Info

Year: 1983
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Canadian Music Centre
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - C$125.98; (digital) - C$94.99   |   Score Only (print) - C$41.99; (digital) - C$31.99

For additional availability information, see Discussion tab, above.


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion, including:

  • Chimes
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-Tam
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

From Chaos to the Birth of a Dancing Star was created in response to the week Allan Bell spent as a “composer in the schools” working with the students on the notions surrounding creativity in music. During the course of their explorations the students created an evocative piece which they called From Chaos to Tranquility. The title reminded the composer of an epigram from the philosopher Friedrich Nietzsche. In describing the creative process he wrote, "It is only through chaos that there can be the birth of a dancing star." Hence, from Nietzsche and the students comes the title of this piece. The work follows the program of the title, from the violence of the opening, through the introduction of a short melodic motive and its development as a melody with orchestral variations, to its serene conclusion.

- Program Note from Kansas State University Symphony Band concert program, 13 March 2007


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

  • MusicFest Canada: B400


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer