Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Fort Worth Funk

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Thomas Bough

Thomas Bough

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 5:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Cimarron Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $34.00; (digital) - $17.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Fort Worth Funk was written to provide a light-hearted, engaging selection for saxophone quartet. It begins with a dramatic statement from the baritone saxophone, who lays down the opening groove. The other members of the quartet enter one at a time, while the composition builds to a virtuosic moment for the full quartet. The staggered entrances also provide an opportunity to stage theatrics as well.

Appropriate rhythms and articulations are meticulously notated to help players achieve an authentic “funk” style in their performance. The piece is loosely based on the chord changes to the jazz standard Well You Needn’t, which appears briefly in swing style at the end of the piece. Chord changes and written solos are provided during the improvised sections, to bring the piece within the grasp of a wide spectrum of players.

- Program Note from publisher

For Greg Dewhirst.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Northern Illinois University (DeKalb) Wind Symphony (Thomas Bough, conductor) – 26 February 2020

Works for Winds by This Composer