For those taken too soon...

From Wind Repertory Project
Kimberly Archer

Kimberly Archer

Subtitle: Symphony No. 1

This title is intentionally written entirely in lower case, with ellipses.

General Info

Year: 2002
Duration: 20:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C. Alan Publications
Cost: Score & Parts - $160.00    |    Score Only - $70.00


Full Score
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III (also off-stage trumpet)
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Double Bass
Percussion (3 players), including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tam-tam
  • Tom-toms (4)
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells (Chimes)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

for those taken too soon ... (Symphony No. 1) is composed in memory of Dennis Kusy. He was an inspiring conductor, a passionate band director and educator, and one of the most gifted musicians I have ever known. He was also my best friend. He was twenty-four years old when he was killed in a car accident on November 10, 2000.

The piece is composed of five seamless sections representative of the stages of grief: denial, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance. The key structure is descending thirds, which starts in E-flat minor, arrives in B-flat major at the climax, then shifts up to D major ("D" for Dennis) at the coda. The melodic basis of the piece is the hymn It Is Well with My Soul, although it is never stated outright until the climax. It is a tune which Dennis first encountered in David Holsinger's On a Hymnsong of Philip Bliss, and used to have me play on the piano for him whenever we were together.

- Program Note by composer



To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Clarke University (Dubuque, Iowa) Wind Ensemble/Julien Winds (Rob Stull, conductor) -- 13 November 2022
  • Portland (Ore.) Wind Symphony (Chris Chapman, conductor) – 29 October 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works