Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Foaming Sea

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert Buckley

Robert Buckley

This work is the second movement of Buckley's The Seas of the Moon.

General Info

Year: 2018
Duration: c. 4:40
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Hal Leonard
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $75.00; (digital) - $75.00   |   Score Only (print) - $7.50


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Gong
  • Ocean Drum
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tom-toms (2)
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Since the beginning of humanity we’ve been mesmerized by the moon. When our ancestors saw the dark spots on the moon, they believed they saw a kind of formation similar to the Earth – they believed they saw seas. These seas were originally named by Giambattista Riccioli, a 17th-century Jesuit astronomer – we still use these names today. Four of these seas were chosen as a basis for this wind symphony, The Seas of the Moon. Because the names of these seas conjured up musical and visual images in my imagination, the music is cinematic in nature and designed to create an abstract impression of otherworldliness. Movement 1, The Sea of Tranquility, is probably the best known of the seas of the moon because of its association with the American space program.

- Program Note by composer

From Robert Buckley's grandly cinematic suite describing impressions of the seas of the moon, the second movement, Foaming Sea, was inspired by the composer watching the ocean during a violent storm with waves exploding and crashing. The sense of excitement and exhilaration eventually leads to the calm after the storm, as turbulent darkness gives way to light.

- Program Note from publisher

Commissioned by Michael Burch-Pesses in celebration of his 20th anniversary as conductor of the Oregon Symphonic Band.

- Program Note from score


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Dakota (Grand Forks) Wind Ensemble (James Popejoy, conductor) - 12 October 2021
  • Oregon (Portland) Symphonic Band (Michael Burch-Pesses, conductor) - 22 April 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works