Flashing Eyes of Andalusia, The (arr Brion)

From Wind Repertory Project
John Philip Sousa

John Philip Sousa (arr. Keith Brion)

General Info

Year: 1920 / 2014
Duration: c. 4:44
Difficulty: IV 1/2 (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: C.L. Barnhouse
Cost: Score and Parts - $95.00   |   Score Only - $12.00


Full Score
Flute I-II-III (III doubling C Piccolo)
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet Solo-I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Castanets
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Sousa's rich Portuguese heritage inherited from his trombonist father gave him a natural, life-long affinity for the music of the Iberian Peninsula. This influence is found in abundance in such compositions as his great Spanish march La Flor de Sevilla and the movements Under the Spanish Flag and Under the Cuban Flag from his Cubaland Suite.

Sousa's brilliant and fiery Spanish dance The Flashing Eyes of Andalusia was completed in June 1920. At first he may have intended it as a brilliant stand-alone concert piece. However, by the end of the same summer he had also composed two other pieces, Drifting to Loveland and The Children's Ball. In August of that year he added these two movements to his Flashing Eyes, creating a Camera Studies Suite for both band and orchestra. In Sousa's lifetime, only the orchestra version was in print.

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Wartburg College (Waverly, Iowa) Symphonic Band (Scott Muntefering, conductor) – 30 November 2017
  • Austin (Texas) Civic Wind Ensemble (Robert Laguna, conductor) – 6 May 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Bierley, P. (1973). John Philip Sousa: A Descriptive Catalog of His Works. University of Illinois Press; Urbana, pp. 83.