Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Adam Gorb

Adam Gorb

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 20:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maecenas/Masters Music
Cost: Score and Parts - Unknown   |   Score Only - Unknown


Full Score

E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III-IV
Alto Saxophone I-II
Tenor Saxophone
Bari Saxophone
Eb Trumpet I (optional)
B-flat Trumpet II-III
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium I-II
Tuba I-II
String Bass

Flute I-II (flute II doubles piccolo)
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bass Clarinet
Bassoon I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV

Tom Toms

Clash Cymbals
Bass Drum with foot pedal
Side Drum
Wind Chimes
Tubular Bells
Wooden Blocks
Tom toms
Low Tom tom
Bass Drum

Suspended Cymbals
Tubular Bells
Choke Cymbal
Side Drum
Vibra Slap
Bass Drum
Siren Whistle
Temple Blocks
Tom toms
Low Tom tom
Clash Cymbal

Bass Drum
Glass & Bucket
Tam tam
Wind Chimes


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Farewell is a large-scale symphonic Adagio lasting about twenty minutes. In this piece I’ve decided to split the Wind Ensemble into two separate ‘orchestras.’ The first ensemble consists of clarinets, saxophones, trumpets, trombones, tubas and harsh sounding percussion; and the music is predominantly desperate and anguished. The instruments in the second ‘orchestra’ are flutes, oboes, bass clarinet, bassoons, horns and more gentle percussion, and the mood is more calming and introspective.

At first the ensembles play exclusively from each other, but eventually they merge and reach a massive climax focussing on a chord of D minor. At this point a third ‘ensemble’ is heard for the first time – the notes C and F sharp (which have not been played at all in the work so far). These notes are played ppppp and come to haunt the end of the work. The title refers to Haydn’s Farewell Symphony, but instead of all the players walking off leaving two instrumentalists to finish, here a solo oboe and clarinet step forward and quietly lament while the rest of the band quietly intone an eternal modus in diabilis.

The title refers to Haydn’s Farewell Symphony, but instead of players leaving the platform until only two players remain, here a solo Oboe and Clarinet move to the front of the platform and quietly lament lament whilst the rest of the players quietly intonean eternal modus in diabilis. Farewell was commissioned for the National Youth Wind Orchestra of Wales by the Welsh Amateur Music Federation at Ty Cerydd – Music Centre Wales.

-Program Note by Adam Gorb.


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Royal Northern College of Music (Tim Reynish, conductor); Manchester, England; 30 July 2008

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works