Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Fantasy on "Salve Regina"

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Patrick J. Burns

Patrick Burns

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 4:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bandworks Publications
Cost: Score and Parts - $65.00   |   Score - $7.50


Full Score
Flute I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-II
Horn in F I-II
Trombone I-II-III
Percussion I-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Cymbals (crash and suspended)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Snare Drum
  • Tubular Bells (Chimes)
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Fantasy on "Salve Regina" was written for the Ohio Northern University Wind Orchestra, directed by Dr. Thomas Hunt, and is based on the ancient chant, Salve Regina. The melody dates back to around the 11th century and has been a part of the Catholic liturgy since the 12th century. I have had great interest in the Salve Regina for some time, since my college days, in fact. It is at once severe yet gentle; expressive yet meditative; vast in character, yet personal and intimate. This setting attempts to relate to the listener all of these varied elements which are germane to the original work.

- Program Note from composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Salem Band (Winston-Salem, N.C.) (Eileen Young, conductor) – 19 December 2019
  • Westchester (N.Y.) Symphonic Winds (Curt Ebersole, conductor) – 10 November 2019
  • New Jersey City University Symphony of Winds and Percussion (Patrick J. Burns, conductor) - 29 November 2012
  • Ohio Northern University Wind Orchestra (Dr. Thomas Hunt, conductor) - 31 May 2011
  • Ohio Northern University Wind Orchestra (Patrick Burns, conductor) - 14 May 2011

Works for Winds by This Composer