Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!


From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Frigyes Hidas

Frigyes Hidas

General Info

Year: 1999
Duration: c. 15:00
Difficulty: VI (solo); V (ensemble) (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stormworks

Cost: Score and Parts - €190.00


Full Score
Solo Violincello
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet
Horn in F I-II
C Trombone
String Bass



None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Hidas’s Fantasy for Violoncello and Wind-Ensemble is an example of the composer’s ability to compose in a musical language that is always easily approachable but never undemanding, with great professional erudition. He liked to make use of the Baroque concerto form, and in the rhythms of his instrumental works the inspiration of jazz can often be felt. He composed in every genre: opera, ballet, oratorio, a mass, two requiems, a symphony, numerous concertos, chamber and solo pieces, film music and, above all, chamber music for brass instruments and works for wind ensemble and wind orchestra. The latter made his name known and respected worldwide.

Program Note by William V. Johnson for the San Luis Obispo Wind Orchestra


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer