Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Fantasia on a Hymn by Praetorius

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Robert E. Foster

Robert E. Foster

General Info

Year: 1984
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Wingert-Jones
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $60.00   |   Score Only (print) - $10.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
E-flat Contra Alto Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Gong
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Tom-Tom
  • Triangle
  • Wood Block


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Michael Praetorius (1553-1611), along with Hans Leo Hassler, Johannes Eccard and Leonhard Lechner, established the Lutheran church musical style in Germany which opened the road to a development that culminated over a hundred years later with the Music of J.S. Bach.

Robert E. Foster, director of bands at the University of Kansas, has taken the hymn tune of Praetorius title Lo How a Rose 'er Blooming that is often heard this time of year, and put it in a modern symphonic setting that explores the many colors and textures of the wind ensemble. After a dramatic opening fanfare that ends with a single sound by the horns and suspended cymbal, the hymn tune is performed in a traditional manner by saxophone choir and chimes with assistance at the end by clarinet choir. The piece then dashes back to the 20th century with a variation that features the percussion section. The opening fanfare reappears, and we are given one last chance to hear the hymn's final phrase performed by the French horn choir before another fanfare creates a dramatic ending.

Robert Foster dedicated this work "To the memory of Clark Galehouse, a Joyous Affirmation of Life and Love." Mr. Galehouse was president of Crest Records, and spent his life making professional recordings of school bands and choirs throughout the United State.

- Program Note from Cuesta Wind Ensemble concert program, 2 December 1994

To the memory of Clark Galehouse, a joyous affirmation of life and love.

- Program Note from score


None discovered thus far.

State Ratings

  • Arkansas: III
  • Kansas: IV
  • Tennessee: IV
  • Virginia: IV


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer


  • Foster, R. (1984). Fantasia on a Hymn by Praetorius: For Concert Band [score]. Wingert-Jones: Kansas City, Mo.