Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Fanfare (Hokoyama)

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Wataru Hokoyama

Wataru Hokoyama

This work bears the designation Opus 1.

General Info

Year: 1995 / 1997
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Bravo Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $90.00   |   Score Only (print) - $12.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Orchestra Chimes
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

In 1997, Wataru Hokoyama wrote his premiere opus Fanfare for John Stanley Ross and the Interlochen Arts Academy Band. It was premiered at Interlochen in 1997 with the Interlochen Arts Academy Band, John Stanley Ross, conducting.

The outer sections are written in a lilting 6/8 with many hemiolas throughout, creating a dance-like sensation. The music is cinematic, as Mr. Hokoyama’s dream was to write music for film, which he is now doing. The middle section, written in a slow 6/8, is mysterious and very dramatic. The work closes with a brilliant C major chord with the underlying fanfare theme presented in the snare drum and timpani.

- Program Note from Appalachian State University Wind Ensemble concert program, 20 November 2017

In the summer of 1995 before his departure to the United States, a request from his high school band friends for a good concert opener sparked 19-year-old Hokoyama to write his very first wind band composition.

To capture the excitement of the rising curtain, the piece begins with magnificent brass ascending in 4th and 5th intervals. This is followed by the energetic entrance of the full ensemble like celebratory cannon fire. The following melody has many notes, yet is still simple.

In the slower middle section, an instinctive vision of a scorching midsummer sun shimmers on the horizon. (Likely this shimmering sunset image was scored unconsciously, being composed in midsummer. A more applicable mood might be “Indian sunset”. Perhaps this Indian style came from a capricious feeling of youthfulness.)

The bright tempo and melody return for the last section. The climactic volley of musical display is like explosive fireworks as the last sounds echo throughout the concert hall.

The composer wishes for performers to play from their hearts and not be limited by an analytic approach to the score -- absolute accuracy is not required. Above all, the deepest pleasure for the composer is to know that teachers and students share the joy of music making with the intention of sharing it with others all over the world.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer