Fanfare, Tango, and Fughetta on Hebrew Themes

From Wind Repertory Project
Stanley M. Hoffman
Stanley M. Hoffman

Stanley M. Hoffman

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 4:15
Difficulty: (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Galaxy Music, through ECS Publishing
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $35.00; (digital) - $35.00


  • Full Score
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II
  • Horn in F
  • Trombone
  • Tuba
  • Timpani (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Completed on November 11, 2008, this work was commissioned by Carolina Brass who gave it its world premiere performance on April 17, 2010, at Brass Fest, Gardner-Webb University, Boiling Springs, NC.

This work incorporates three traditional synagogue tunes corresponding to each of its sections. In English those tunes are titled "The soul of every living being shall bless Your Name" (Fanfare), "When Israel went forth from Egypt" (Tango), and "How goodly are your tents, O Jacob "(Fughetta). The fanfare appears in an altered recapitulation at the end of the piece to draw it to a close.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Carolina Brass (Boiling Springs, N.C.) – 17 April 2010 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer