Exhale! (Stephenson)

From Wind Repertory Project
James Stephenson

James Stephenson

General Info

Year: 2021
Duration: c. 5:40
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Stephenson Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $150.00; (digital) - $150.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals (2)
  • Glockenspiel
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-tam
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wood Block
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Several months ago, mid-pandemic, I was asked by Col. Don Schofield of the United States Air Force Band to write a piece full of hope: a concert opener or closer that might bring a rush of excitement to the audience, and also reflect on how grateful we all were to be in a room together again listening to live music.

I was finally able to write this new work -- Exhale! -- which is meant to represent that feeling we all know as a cathartic response to a tense moment having passed. I was also inspired by the contrails -- or exhalations -- that are emitted from Air Force jets as they propel themselves upward: another visual symbol of that kind of optimism and hope. While it can’t be performed right away, I certainly look forward to that time when it can be, and when we can all breathe a little easier.

- Program Note by composer (November 2020)


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • University of North Texas (Denton) Wind Symphony (Eugene Migliaro Corporon, conductor) – 17 February 2022
  • United States Air Force Band (Washington, D.C.) (Don Schofield, conductor) - 4 July 2021 *Premiere Performance*

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works