From Wind Repertory Project
Alfred Reed

Alfred Reed

General Info

Year: 1993
Duration: c. 4:30
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Molenaar Edition
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $264.25   |   Score Only (print) - $40.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
B-flat Cornet I-II
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bells
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Marimba
  • Snare Drum
  • Xylophone


In parts:

  • Flute, m.52: Remove trill below
  • Trombone II, m.169: 2nd note should be C, not D-flat
  • Cornet I, m.211: Remove the accent of the first note

In score:

  • Trumpet II, m.210: Remove the accent of the first note

Program Notes

Commissioned by Feldmusik Baar in Unterageri, Switzerland, the work is in the form of a single movement in a sprightly, vigorous tempo throughout, and built from three contrasting themes, with the music evolving (hence its title) from the interplay of these three themes, one brash and powerful, the second gay and lilting, and the third lyrical and reflective. The combination of, and contrasts between, these three motivic elements are treated with all of the resources of the modern, fully integrated wind orchestra to create a brilliant texture.

- Program Note from publisher


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Perusal Score
  • Reed, A. (1993). Evolutions: A Concert Overture for Winds [score]. Molenaar: Wormerveer, Netherlands.