Euphonium Concerto (Gorb)

From Wind Repertory Project
Adam Gorb

Adam Gorb

General Info

Year: 1997
Duration: c. 19:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Maecenas Music
Cost: Score and Parts - £74.00   |   Score Only - £20.00


1. Largo
2. Allegro Vivace


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Triangle
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Euphonium Concerto was written in 1996-7, and is about fifteen minutes long in two contrasting movements. In the first, and longer movement, I have attempted to exploit the more lyrical side of the solo instrument. After a bell-like introduction played softly on woodwinds, answered by recitative-like gestures in the euphonium and followed by a gentle buildup from the whole band, the main body of the movement sets off in a flowing 5/8 time with a saxophone melody answered by the soloist. A more lively scherzando section follows, always increasing in animation, and eventually dissolving into cascading semiquavers for the soloist. A more sombre section follows, and a climax is reached with the full band landing in the home key of A minor. Earlier material is recalled and the movement ends with a return to the very opening and a soft shimmer of bell sounds.

These sounds should reverberate into the next movement, an Allegro Vivace led by the soloist with a melody based on the theme from the opening of the work. The full band soon interrupts, reaching a martial climax before a more graceful melody attempts to exert itself. After a moment of reflection, the main theme of the movement is developed contrapuntally, eventually reaching the work's main climax with a return to the bell-like melody of the opening, this time with full forces, fortissimo. Following a brief reminiscence of the opening of the movement, the coda lurches into a completely different world, totally unlike anything that has happened before.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works


  • Gorb, A. (1997). Euphonium Concerto [score]. Maecenas Music: Kenley, Surrey, Eng.
  • Perusal score