Entre Cloches

From Wind Repertory Project
Maurice Ravel

Maurice Ravel (arr. Di Scala)

General Info

Year: 1897 / 2012
Duration: 3:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Manuscript
Cost: Score and Parts - contact Nick Di Scala, nick.discala@gmail.com


Full Score
C Piccolo / Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III (2 on a part)
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III-IV
B-flat Trumpet I-II
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Euphonium (Bass Clef)
Double Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV, including:

  • Timpani
  • Chimes
  • Glockenspiel
  • Vibraphone
  • Medium Sus. Cymbal
  • 3 Sus. Cymbals
  • Large Tam-tam
  • Bell Tree
  • Mark Tree
  • Triangle


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Entre Cloches or “Among Bells”, is the second of two movements from the piece, Sites Auriculaires. It was originally written for two pianos–the only piece Ravel wrote for this configuration. It contains many successions of fourths and accented repeated notes, suggesting the chiming of bells, both large and small. Moreover, the piece exploits the interval of the fourth to a striking degree, both melodically and harmonically. It begins with rapid motion in fourths, followed by a much slower lyrical section. It then returns to its opening material in a denser, more clamorous fashion before subsiding to a quiet end. With its bold, driving sonorities and its modally inflected lyricism, it is an achievement of considerable merit.

- Program Note by arranger


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Oakland (Calif.) Municipal Band (Troy Davis, conductor) – 6 August 2012

Works for Winds by This Composer


None discovered thus far.