Enemy God and the Dance of the Spirits, The

From Wind Repertory Project
Sergei Prokofiev

Sergei Prokofiev (arr. Wil van der Beek)

General Info

Year: 1916 / 1996
Duration: c. 3:00
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Orchestra
Publisher: De Haske
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €130.00   |   Score Only (print) - €26.16


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet/Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II
Bass Trombone
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Snare Drum
  • Tambourine
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Russian ballet director Sergei Diaghilev commissioned many composers to write music for the theatre. This was what caused Serge Prokofiev to compose the four-part Scytische Suite (also known as Ala and Lolli) in 1916, from which The Enemy God and the Dance of the Spirits can be heard. This suite is one of Prokofiev's first works, and received negative criticism following its first performance on account of its being "uncivilised". Prokofiev himself wrote after this first performance ". . . The timpani player beat the skin of the timpani to tatters, and the whole orchestra voiced a protest. A cellist complained that he only put up with the violence, created by the blaring brass, on account of his sick wife and three children . . .".

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer