Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

End Times

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Haley Woodrow

Haley Woodrow

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 12:50
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Woodrow Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $95.00; (digital) - $95.00   |   Score Only (print) - $20.00

Movements (played without pause)

1. Remnant
2. Rain
3. Return


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Crotales
  • Glockenspiel
  • Hi-Hat
  • Marimba
  • Ocean Drum
  • Shakers
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tambourine
  • Tam-Tam
  • Thunder Sheet
  • Triangle
  • Vibraphone
  • Wind Chimes
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

As the great Igor Stravinsky once said, “Music praises God ... it is the Church’s greatest ornament.” My composition aspires to do just this -- to praise God while telling the story outlined in the program notes, which I derived from Pastor Evans’ messages and relevant biblical text.

The work is thirteen minutes in length and set in three continuous movements; Remnant, Rain and Return. Remnant depicts a battle between good and evil, represented by two contrasting themes that interrupt and eventually overlap each other. The movement concludes with the removal of the remnant, a symbolic gesture of the Rapture. Movement II, Rain, features a rainstorm, utilizing extended techniques and body percussion, and then transitions to a dark theme in Eb Phrygian. This movement is a “throwback” to the last time the Earth was destroyed -- documented in the book of Genesis which details the legendary story of Noah, the Ark and the Great Flood.

Return begins with musical figures that mimic an ancient shofar, and eventually culminates in the reconciliation of all instruments as they play Nicaea, the tune from the hymn Holy, Holy, Holy in celebration of the return of Jesus Christ to the Earth.

- Program Note by composer


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Texas Christian University (Lubbock, Tx.) Wind Symphony (Bobby R. Francis, conductor) - 19 April 2018

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works