Elsa's feierlicher Zug zum Münster (tr Nefs)

From Wind Repertory Project
Richard Wagner

Richard Wagner (trans. Jacco Nefs)

Subtitle: From Lohengren (with finale 2nd act)

The title translates from the German as "Elsa's Procession to the Cathedral."

General Info

Year: 1848 / 2017
Duration: c. 7:00
Difficulty: III (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Symphony
Publisher: Jacco Nefs
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $110.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Flute tutti
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Solo Soprano Clarinet I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Contrabass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Harp (optional)
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbals

Offstage Trumpets I-VI
Cell (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Richard Wagner finished the opera Lohengrin in 1848. It tells the story of Elsa, a princess in Brabant (a province in the north of Belgium and the south of The Netherlands), who is rescued and wedded by a knight in shining armor who insists on remaining nameless. Drama and tragedy ensue, ending with the death of several characters in typical Wagnerian fashion. We all are familiar with the traditional wedding march from the opera, but more honestly, Elsa’s Procession to the Cathedral in Act II is the actual wedding march, expressive of our young woman's innocent yearning and growing expectation, as 'a long train of ladies, magnificently attired, proceeds slowly, finally ascending the steps of the cathedral in Antwerp' (cue the pipe organ). Even in its original form, this section is almost a band piece, dominated by winds and percussion.

- Program Note excerpted from Andy Pease, Michael Barone and Jacco Nefs


(Needed - please join the WRP if you can help.)

State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer