Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Elena Roussanova Lucas

From Wind Repertory Project
Elena Roussanova Lucas

Ivana Loudová


Elena Roussanova Lucas (b. 1974, Moscow, Russia) is a Russian composer and pianist living in the United States.

She began the study of piano at age three and six months later was accepted into the child prodigy music program at the Central School of the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics (U.S.S.R.).

Lucas is a graduate of the Tchaikovsky Conservatory of Music (Moscow, Russia), where she received the Red Diploma (Magna Cum Laude) in composition and piano. She studied composition with Tihan Khrennikov and Tatiana Choodova. Previously she had studied at the Ippolotov Ivanov Music College and Academy of Music in Moscow, where she earned a diploma in piano and piano accompaniment.

A member of the prestigious United Russian Composers Union, Lucas currently is a composer with Warner Brothers Music Publishers and a piano instructor at Lubbock (Texas) Christian University. She previously was a piano instructor at the Music School of Moscow.

Lucas is a prolific composer of a variety of works for orchestra, chamber orchestra, symphonic wind ensemble, concert band, violin-cello duo, brass quintet, woodwind trio, quartet and flute, euphonium, and piano. She also has written a number of works for piano, voice, clarinet, trombone, and euphonium. She received a special recognition Achievement Award from the Moscow Chief Administrator of Cultural Affairs for the piano music that she wrote for the observance of the 50th anniversary of the end of World War II.

Lucas has performed widely as a pianist in Moscow and the United States. She won first prize in a Russian national piano competition which was sponsored by the Russian Ministry of Culture, the Russian Academy of Music, and the Moscow National Institute of Music.

Lucas taught piano and accompanies students at Texas Tech University and Christian University. Her piano students received a number of awards, including first prize in Moscow-wide piano competitions, and acceptance into prestigious conservatories including the Tchaikovsky Conservatory in Moscow, and the Conservatory in Greece.

She is current associate professor of composition at Berklee College of Music in Boston.

Works for Winds