El Coloso

From Wind Repertory Project
Ferrer Ferran

Ferrer Ferran

This work is also known as Symphony no. 4. The title translations as "The Colossus."

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 25:12
Difficulty: VII (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Musicaes
Cost: Score and Parts -Unknown


1. Obscuridad [Darkness] - 7:40
2. Duerme [Sleep] - 6:10
3. La Huida [The Flight] - 3:30
4. El Gigante [The Giant] - 7:20


  • C Piccolo
  • Flute I-II (I doubling Alto Flute)
  • Oboe I-II
  • English Horn
  • Bassoon I-II
  • Contrabassoon (optional)
  • E-flat Soprano Clarinet
  • B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
  • E-flat Alto Clarinet
  • B-flat Bass Clarinet
  • B-flat Contrabass Clarinet (optional)
  • E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
  • B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
  • E-flat Baritone Saxophone
  • B-flat Bass Saxophone (optional)
  • B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV (I and II optionally doubling Piccolo Trumpet)
  • B-flat Flugelhorn I-II
  • Horn in F I-II-III-IV
  • Trombone I-II-III
  • Bass Trombone
  • Euphonium I-II
  • Tuba
  • String Bass
  • Piano
  • Harp
  • Timpani

Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

*Bamboo Stick
*Bass Drum
*Crash Cymbal
*Mark Tree
*Sizzle Cymbal
*Slap Stick
*Sleigh Bells
*Snare Drum
*Suspended Cymbal
*Temple Blocks
*Tubular Bells
*Wind Machine
  • Cello


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

With the turn of the century, Goya will become a lucid chronicler who describes like no one else the grotesque, violent and, ultimately, the horrible reality around him. This refers to the Goya expressed in the "black paintings." A forerunner of this series of paintings is the painting that bears the title The Colossus or the panic, made around 1810-1812 and held in the Museo del Prado.

This enigmatic painting (which even today undoubtedly captures the nightmares of war) announces, through his technique and environment, the visions that in the last years of the painter's life reach the point of maximum expression. The true meaning and thematic intent of this painting is still vague. Something huge and terrifying confront helpless humanity and puts it to flight. Only a donkey, a picture of ignorance and unconsciousness, remains still and unmoved.

Multiple interpretations and meanings for the giant have been put forth. Some people want to see an allusion to Napoleon; others see a symbol of war, famine, cruelty or simply the fear of the unknown. In any case, the picture introduces us to the shadowy world that encompassed Goya in his last years. And by contrast it also reveals to us subtleties and wisdom of execution, with fillings with light vigorous strokes of spatula and vigorous brush strokes, of the modern master. The painting entered the Prado in 1930 as a bequest of Fernández Durán.

The Symphony No. 4 The Colossus is an passionate, violent, huge, extremely difficult work that demonstrates virtuosity in all parts of the orchestra. It consists of four movements played without interruption entitled:

I. Darkness
II. Sleep
III. The Flight
IV. The Giant

The symphony conveys, from the composer's viewpoint, the message that the painting conveys to him. "Darkness," because the oil painting adopts the style of the Black Paintings dominated by the color black. The picture / autograph point the legend of Goya "Great Colossus Asleep." In "The Escape", the bottom of the box, people and animals flee in various directions, giving the impression of chaos of so terrifying a situation. And "El Gigante" walking in the mountains, above the scene of torment, and with fists held high, his eyes closed, representing the idea of blind violence.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

  • Sonatur (Flex instrumentation) (2016)

All Wind Works