Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

El Arca de Noé

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Oscar Navarro

Oscar Navarro

Subtitle: Symphonic Poem for Wind Band

The title of this work translates from the Spanish as Noah's Ark.

General Info

Year: 2011
Duration: c. 18:55
Difficulty: V (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Oscar Navarro Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €220.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet Solo-I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Saxophone
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone I-II
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Bass Saxophone I-II-III
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Flugelhorn I-II
E-flat Horn or Alto I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Euphonium I-II
Harp (optional)
Percussion I-II-III-IV-V, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Bongos
  • Claves
  • Conga
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Djembe
  • Glockenspiel
  • Guiro
  • Mark Tree
  • Rainstick
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Temple Blocks
  • Triangle
  • Tubular Bells
  • Vibraphone
  • Vibra-slap
  • Xylophone

Choir, synthesized (optional)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

The Symphonic Poem is divided into 10 clearly descriptive sections of biblical passages regarding Noah’s Ark. These sections are:

On the Mountain -- During these measures the music puts us on a distant mountain where Noah is (theme played by the English horn) receiving the tragic news of the great flood that will ravage the whole earth. After a few minutes of emotional music, the image brings us closer to a more detailed picture of God’s words to Noah in ...

The Word of God -- The lower section of the orchestra embodies God speaking his last words to Noah with the background sound of celestial bells. After His last words we go on to observe the animals that inhabit the earth through the eyes of Noah.

The Land of the Beasts -- After God’s profound words to Noah, we now see a land completely populated by a multitude of animals, among which the elephants can be heard, represented by the glissandos of the French horn section, etc., under an incessant rhythm marked by the percussion that immerses us in extensive valleys which show us the animal kingdom.

Noah’s Family -- Noah’s family, after receiving the tragic news of the great flood, observes with sorrow the vast plains that soon will disappear under the water ... turning his gaze back to the beasts ...

The Birds -- Over the next few minutes the music broadly describes the different families of the great animal kingdom that populate the earth, beginning with the birds ...

The Sea Life -- For these bars the music plunges us into the great ocean populated by dolphins, whales and other creatures that inhabit them, describing the wonderful sea bottom, with the incessant play of the dolphins and other animals ... After this section, the music fades until night covers the whole face of the earth (in the distance the bells announce midnight). Once the animals are on the ark with Noah and his family, they just need to wait for the great flood to come upon them ...

The Ark at Midnight -- The warm melody provided by the horns and light interventions with a flute and piccolo mimicking the call of birds now have us inside the ark. During the last hours sitting on the Earth, one hears the soft melody provided by the clarinet, later the bassoon and then finally the tenor saxophone solos that burst into a great fortissimo of the entire band, interrupted by small raindrops that announce ...

The Storm -- For a few seconds you can hear the sound of frogs (güiro) and others, in the first drops of rain, and suddenly a flash of lightning announces the great disaster ... The Great Flood.

Destruction -- The image of the great flood now puts us outside of the ark. A huge storm is completely destroying the earth. The wrath of God has no boundaries and destroys everything in its path (in these seconds of music we hear the melody, which the work had previously offered in the horns and is now, with great fury, in the band’s basses). Again we go back inside the ark, listening to the general nervousness and especially the sound of the elephants, again played by the horn section. Back outside the ark, where a few bars of ostinato supported by the bells lead to the big explosion and finally the end of the Great Flood. Calm comes and the ark disappears into the horizon through a solo for two clarinets that leads to an infinite pianissimo.

The New Earth -- After the great catastrophe, a new world opens before Noah‘s eyes. This gentle melody, played by the horn and the call of the dove (portamento of the flute) in the distance, heralds the resurgence of new valleys and plains before the eyes of the future inhabitants of the earth. With a relentless march rhythm and gentle waves of the floodwaters on the earth, the ark heads toward the new land, the revival of an unspoiled paradise blessed by God and offered to Noah and his family.

... Then God said to Noah, “Come out of the ark, you and your wife and your sons and their wives. Bring out every kind of living creature that is with you -- the birds, the animals, and all the creatures that move along the ground -- so they can multiply on the earth and be fruitful and increase in number on it” Genesis Chap. 8 Verse 15 – 17.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Navarro, O. (2011). El Arca de Noé; Poema Sinfónico [score]. Rivera: Valencia, Spain.
  • Oscar Navarro website Accessed 23 November 2019