Echoes of San Marco

From Wind Repertory Project
Johan de Meij

Johan de Meij

General Info

Year: 2016
Duration: c. 10:00
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Amstel Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $245.00   |   Score Only (print) - $45.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute I
Flute II
Alto Flute
Bass Flute
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Church Organ
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Crash Cymbal
  • Snare Drum
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Tubular Bells (2 sets)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Echoes of San Marco was composed as homage to Italian composer Giovanni Gabrieli (1554–1612), the Renaissance maestro who was well known for his use of double wind ensembles, mirroring each other sonically in the awe-inspiring San Marco Cathedral in Venice, Italy. Majestic brass fanfares from two different locations in the back of the concert hall mark the opening of the work: we hear fragments from Giovanni Gabrieli’s majestic Canzon Septimi Toni a 8 from the Sacrae Symphoniae (1597), originally written for two four-part brass choirs. Several groups within the ensemble, such as a double-reed choir, a saxophone quartet, a horn quartet, euphonium/tuba quartet and two sets of tubular bells mimic the brass choirs, while the clarinet choir and a flute quartet prolong the echoes with mysterious cluster chords. The work reaches a triumphant conclusion with a grand hymn.

Echoes of San Marco was commissioned by Col. Larry H. Lang, commander of the United States Air Force Band, to commemorate its 75th Anniversary in 2016.

- Program Note by composer


  • Winner, 30th Edition of the International Composition Competition in Corciano, Italy.


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • New Jersey Wind Symphony (Ridgewood) (Johan de Meij, conductor) - 6 November 2022
  • San Francisco Wind Ensemble (San Mateo, Calif.) (Johan de Meij, conductor) – 20 January 2018
  • State University of New York, Fredonia, Wind Ensemble (Paula Holcomb, conductor) – 16 November 2016

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • De Meij, J. (2016). Echoes of San Marco: For Wind Orchesta (2016) [score]. Amstel Music: Amsterdam, Neth.
  • Johan de Meij website Accessed 13 November 2016