Dutch Masters Suite

From Wind Repertory Project
Johan de Meij

Johan de Meij

General Info

Year: 2008
Duration: c. 20:50
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Amstel, through Music Shop Europe
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - €290.65   |   Score Only (print) - €68.22


1. The Night Watch - Rembrandt van Rijn
2. The Love Letter - Johannes Vermeer
3. Prince's Day - Jan Steen


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
English Horn
Bassoon I-II
E-flat Soprano Clarinet
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bass Drum
  • Chimes
  • Crotales
  • Field Drum (large)
  • Snare Drum
  • Tam-Tam (low)
  • Xylophone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

For this exciting work Johan de Meij took his inspiration from Rembrandt’s The Night Watch, Vermeer’s Love Letter and Steen’s Prinsjesdag. In the first movement the solo trombone keeps watch at night, whilst in the second movement lyrical lute music accompanies Vermeer’s Love Letter. The third movement takes place in a tavern, where the drinking, singing and (increasingly inarticulate) music take place. An epilogue from the watchful trombone brings the piece to a peaceful end.

This work was the set-piece for 2nd division concert bands at the 16th World Music Conference in Kerkrade, Netherlands, in 2009.

- Program Note from publisher

Dedicated to Colonel John R. Bourgeois, the 25th director of the United States Marine Band "The President's Own".

- Program Note from score


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by this Composer