Please DONATE to help with maintenance and upkeep of the Wind Repertory Project!

Duo Concertante

From Wind Repertory Project
Jump to navigation Jump to search
Michael Burritt

Michael Burritt

Subtitle: For Clarinet and Percussion

General Info

Year: 2006
Duration: c. 9:00
Difficulty: VI (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Keyboard Percussion Publications
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $25.00


Full Score
B-flat Soprano Clarinet
Percussion, including:

  • Bongos
  • Congas
  • Marimba
  • Timbales
  • Tom-toms (6)


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Duo Concertante was written for John Yeh, associate principal clarinet with the Chicago Symphony, and his daughter Molly, an outstanding young percussionist, in celebration of Chicago’s Northshore Concert Bands 50th Anniversary.

The Concertante is a one-movement work in three distinct sections following in the traditional concerto fast-slow-fast model. The solo percussion part calls for five-octave marimba and six concert toms or any combination of bongos, timbales and conga drums. The clarinetist remains on a B-flat instrument for the entirety of the work.

The thought of writing a concerto for clarinet and percussion brought to mind the wonderful contributions of the great jazz clarinetist Benny Goodman and his groundbreaking drummer Gene Krupa. It was Benny Goodman’s famous tune Sing, Sing, Sing that provided the drums with one of the first avenues to shine as a solo instrument. In formulating the work, I decided upon developing sections of the piece that would reflect this historical combination. Because of this influence, the orchestration and rhythmic backbone of the outer sections are unquestionably a result of my affinity for jazz and popular music. The center or slow movement of the work is essentially a love theme meant to express the deep and profound feelings shared between a parent and child. This section closes with a cadenza incorporating both marimba and clarinet soloists.

My mother was an outstanding clarinetist and gifted teacher. I dedicate this piece to her. Thanks for letting me play the drums, mom.

- Program Note by composer


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Virginia Tech (Blacksburg) Wind Ensemble (Derek Shapiro, conductor) - 17 November 2021

Works for Winds by This Composer


  • Burritt, M. (2006). Duo Concertante : For Clarinet and Percussion [score]. Keyboard Percussion Publications: Asbury Park, N.J.