Duke of Marlborough Fanfare,The (arr Ragsdale)

From Wind Repertory Project
Percy Aldridge Grainger

Percy Aldridge Grainger (arr. Chalon Ragsdale)

General Info

Year: 1939 / 1995
Duration: c. 2:20
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Publisher: Aux Arcs Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $80.00   |   Score Only (print) - $30.00


Full Score
C Piccolo
Flute I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Cornet I-II-III-IV
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion, including:

  • Bells
  • Chimes
  • Gong
  • Marimba
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone


None discovered thus far.

Program Notes

Percy Grainger dedicated his Duke of Marlborough Fanfare to two people who greatly influenced his life. One was the great Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg, who recognized Grainger’s talents and enthusiastically supported him; and the other was Miss Lucy E. Broadwood “who first revealed to me the charm of the living English folksong.” Grainger wrote this about the piece:

“My fanfare (written on March 5-6, 1939 at Coral Gables, Florida) is based on the English folksong “The Duke of Marlborough” as collected from the singing of Mr. Henry Burstow (of Horsham, Sussex, England) one of the very finest of all English folksingers. In my setting, the tune is heard twice. The first time, it typifies the memories of long past wars, vague, far off, poetic. The second time it typifies a war in the present, fast-moving, close at hand, debonair, drastic.”

The opening French horn solo is heard again in the French horns in the Lisbon Bay movement of Grainger’s Lincolnshire Posy.

- Program Note from Heritage Encyclopedia of Band Music


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

Works for Winds by This Composer

Adaptable Music

All Wind Works