Duke Ellington! (arr Custer)

From Wind Repertory Project
Duke Ellington

Duke Ellington (arr. Calvin Custer)

Subtitle: Medley for Concert Band

General Info

Year: 1994
Duration: c. 7:25
Difficulty: IV (see Ratings for explanation)
Original Medium: Big Band
Publisher: Alfred Music
Cost: Score and Parts (print) - $87.00; (digital) - $87.00   |   Score Only (print) - $9.00


Full Score
C Piccolo/Flute III
Flute I-II
Oboe I-II
Bassoon I-II
B-flat Soprano Clarinet I-II-III
E-flat Alto Clarinet
B-flat Bass Clarinet
E-flat Alto Saxophone I-II
B-flat Tenor Saxophone
E-flat Baritone Saxophone
B-flat Trumpet I-II-III
Horn in F I-II-III-IV
Trombone I-II-III
Bass Trombone
String Bass
Percussion I-II-III, including:

  • Bells
  • Congas or Bongos
  • Crash Cymbals
  • Drum Set
  • Suspended Cymbal
  • Vibraphone
  • Xylophone


  • Mallet Percussion, m.3: The instrument is not identified; most likely to be orchestra bells.

Program Notes

This is a great medley of Duke Ellington tunes, and it's accessible to the average group. Timeless melodies like Sophisticated Lady; Don't Get Around Much Anymore; Do Nothin' Till You Hear from Me; It Don't Mean A Thing and others are expertly arranged by Calvin Custer to produce a superb medley.

- Program Note from publisher


State Ratings

None discovered thus far.


To submit a performance please join The Wind Repertory Project

  • Gold Coast Wind Ensemble (Newberry Park, Calif.) (Michael Doty, conductor) – 18 January 2020
  • Iowa State University (Ames) Wind Ensemble (Michael Golemo, conductor) - 9 May 2018 (London)
  • Iowa State University (Ames) Wind Ensemble (Michael Golemo, conductor) – 2 March 2018
  • Albany (Ga.) State University Symphonic Band 16 April 2015
  • Gold Coast Wind Ensemble (Thousand Oaks, Calif.) (Clifton H. Dawley, conductor) - 17 January 2015

Works for Winds by This Composer